Who was the actor that played mr schwamp on the andy griffith show?

Despite burning curiosity, the answer to who played Mr. Schwamp is rather murky. Back in 2012, a post on an Andy Griffith fan page account on Facebook claimed that the actor behind the character Patch S. Wimmers. However, the post turned out to be an April Fool’s joke.