Can a bird choke?

Yes. Pet birds, especially babies, can easily choke on liquids or small pieces broken off of a bird toy. A bird that is choking will show difficulty swallowing, it may be gasping for breath, or it may be opening the beak with an exaggerated motion and attempting to regurgitate or gag.