What is the aurora in subnautica?

The Aurora is a spacecraft sent to the Ariadne Arm by the Alterra Corporation in order to build a phasegate. However, its secondary mission, unknown to most of the crew, was to search for and, if possible, rescue the survivors of the Degasi crew.