What is benzonate?

Benzonatate is a non-narcotic cough medicine. Benzonatate works by numbing certain nerves in the lungs and airways, lessening the urge to cough. Common side effects are: severe drowsiness or dizziness; confusion, tingling in your mouth, throat, a choking feeling; chills; or. burning in your eyes.