Tell me stuff about the civil war?

The Civil War was a brutal war that lasted from 1861 to 1865. It left the south economically devastated, and resulted in the criminalization of slavery in the United States. Confederate General Lee surrendered to Union General Grant in the spring of 1865 officially ending the war.