How does air get made?

Volcanoes released gases from the Earth's interior for millions of years. The main gases were carbon dioxide, water vapor, hydrogen sulfide and ammonia. Over time these gases accumulated to form the Earth's atmosphere. Then cyanobacteria evolved & started creating oxygen.