Why is it called a double a battery?

The battery industry needed to distinguish among 3 similar sized batteries. Diameter and length - AA: 14.5 mm x 50.5 mm, AAA: 10.5 mm x 44.5 mm, quadruple A: 8.3 mm x 42.5 mm.