Who is the mediterranean?

The mediterranean sea is a body of water, fed from the Atlantic ocean. The lands around the ocean include France, Italy, Greece, and northern Africa. The name came from the fact that it was the middle of the ancient "old" world, medi meant middle, terra was world.