Can you substitute tomato juice for tomato sauce?

Tomato juice is a good sauce substitute. For ½ cup tomato sauce and ½ cup water, 1 cup tomato juice plus dash of salt and sugar can be used. An extremely handy substitute for tomato sauce is puree.