Does real butter need to be refrigerated?

No. Butter has a shelf life of many months, even if stored at room temperature. However, it will stay fresh longer if it is kept in the refrigerator.

---

Keeping butter in the fridge maximizes freshness, while leaving it on the counter keeps it soft and spreadable for immediate use. It's fine to keep regular, salted butter out of the fridge, as long as it's concealed from heat, light and air.