Why are bathrooms called restrooms?

“Restroom”, chosen term for a place we visit to relieve our bladder or our colon, when away from home. It is so-called because people feel the need to sound polite or genteel when speaking to others outside of their intimate social circle.

---

The term is believed to have originated from the large stores back in the early 1900s that had a small lounge in the bathroom. The bathroom was, a bathroom, and the lounge gave shoppers a chance to sit and rest. Thus people started calling bathrooms restrooms because it sounded nicer.