Why are bathrooms called restrooms?

The term is believed to have originated from the large stores back in the early 1900s that had a small lounge in the bathroom. The bathroom was, a bathroom, and the lounge gave shoppers a chance to sit and rest. Thus people started calling bathrooms restrooms because it sounded nicer.