Is there a difference between scallions and green onions?

Scallions are a variety of young onion also referred to as green onions or spring onions. A scallion is made up of a white base that has not fully developed into a bulb and long green stalks that resemble chives. Both the white and the green parts are used in recipes and eaten both raw and cooked.

---

Green onions and scallions are the same things! They are harvested very young from the regular bulb-forming onions we are familiar with, or they can come from other varieties that never form bulbs. Scallions are long, with a white stem end that does not bulge out.