When was the first nickelodeon show?

The original Nickelodeon show was created by Vivian Horner for the PBS children's show The Electric Company. It was called Pinwheel. On December 1, 1977, the Pinwheel channel began airing educational children's shows. 2 years later, they renamed themselves Nickelodeon. The first show was Pinwheel.