What was the first energy drink?

It's difficult to say which was the first energy drink, because humans have been putting substances such as cocaine and other stimulants in supposed medicinal tonics and tinctures since ancient times. The first energy drink that gained any popularity in the modern commercial era is Jolt Cola.