Is a penguin a bird?

Yes, a penguin is a bird. A flightless bird. Many people think they are mammals because they don't fly but they are birds. They only live in the Southern Hemisphere. Some species live in Antarctica but most are between latitudes 45°-60° where they breed on islands.