What is a. u. basketball stand for?

I thnk you mean: AAU. It stands for Amateur Athletic Union, and according to their website, they have been in existence since 1888. The Amateur Athletic Union is a youth sports organization. Groups of players get together and form independent teams that compete in AAU tournaments against other teams