Do raisins grow on trees?

The raisin tree is native to moist areas and mountains of China, although cultivation spread long ago. The plant was introduced to the West in about 1820. The edible "raisins" are not a fruit at all but a short, swollen mature flower stalk or peduncle which supports the inedible seed pod.