Does titanium set off metal detectors?

Plates, screws, staples and other internally implanted titanium do not set off walk through metal detectors although they may set off metal detector wands. Breast prosthetics and titanium parts that are larger and closer to the skin surface may set off detectors and require pat down inspection.