How wide is the chesapeake bay?

The Chesapeake Bay is about 200 miles long. At its narrowest point, the Bay is 2.8 miles wide. At its widest point, just south of the mouth of the Potomac River, it is 30 miles wide. The Bay and its tributaries contain an astounding 11,684 miles of shoreline.