What happened to syndrome in incredibles?

Syndrome is seemingly killed when his cape is sucked into the turbine of his jet after Mr Incredible throws a car into the jet causing it to shift and malfunction. In some novelizations, Syndrome's fate is not fully explained suggesting he may have survived.