What's the difference between a bulging disk in a herniated disk?

A bulging disc is when the harder exterior cartilage layer of the disc has an abnormal bump (or bluge) that goes beyond the vertabrae it sits between. A herniated disc is when the harder exterior cartilage layer of the disc is broken and the softer interior cartilage layer protrudes out of the disc.