What is the average birth weight in the u. s.?

At birth, the average baby weighs about 7.5 pounds — though the range of normal is between 5.8 and 10 pounds. Learn more about newborn weight gains and losses. If there's one way in which parents want their babies to be average, it might be when it comes to weight