Are rawhide safe for dogs?

Rawhide is generally considered a safe treat for dogs that are soft chewers. Dogs that are heavy chewers should avoid rawhide because there is a greater risk of breaking off large chunks that can pose choking hazards or cause intestinal blockage. There are many safer alternatives for all dogs.