What is the meaning of the word callus?

Callus as a noun, an area of skin that is thick or hard from continual pressure or friction, a bony tissue formed during the healing of a fractured bone. As an adjective, emotionally hardened, a callous indifference to suffering.

---

Thickened or hardened part of skin or soft tissue