What's the difference between bourbon whiskey and whiskey?

All bourbons are whiskeys, but not all whiskeys are bourbons. In order to be classified as bourbon, a whiskey needs to be distilled from a mixture of grains, or mash, that’s at least 51 percent corn, and aged in new, charred barrels. Also, most bourbons come from Kentucky.