How do you tell if blue cheese is bad?

If you notice any signs of spoilage on your blue cheese, you should discard it immediately. In particular, fuzzy white, green, pink, or grey spots growing on the surface of blue cheese may indicate it has gone bad. Additionally, cheese that develops a strong odor similar to ammonia may be spoiled.