What's the first hurricane's name?

The first officially named male hurricane based on the male/female system we use today was hurricane Bob in 1979. The first US named hurricane (unofficially named) was George, which hit in 1947. The next one given a name was Hurricane Bess, named for the First Lady of the USA, Bess Truman, in 1949