Where did the saying bless you come from?

Hundreds of years ago people thought when someone sneezed they were expelling evil spirits from inside them. So after “sneezing the evil spirits out”, evil spirits were in the vicinity of everyone, so the people who heard the sneeze would say “bless you” to get the evil spirits to leave the area.