How do you get the water out of tofu?

Place the tofu block on the paper towels and put another layer of on top of the tofu. Put another plate or a cutting board on top of the paper towels and then weigh it down with heavy books or cans. Every half-hour or so, drain the water that has been pressed out of the tofu.