What is shoyu soy sauce?

Shoyu is Japanese-style soy sauce made from 4 ingredients: fermented soybeans, wheat, salt & water. Chinese soy sauce has little or no wheat or yeast in its 11-12 ingredients. Chinese dark soy sauce also has caramel coloring E150 and is thicker in texture and can have a sweetish aftertaste.