What is ludlum?

The name Ludlum is of Anglo-Saxon origin and came from when a family lived on a hill beside a babbling river which was later referred to as Ludlow Ludlum is a topographic surname, which was given to a person who resided near a physical feature such as a hill, stream, church, or type of tree.