What makes a bird a raptor?

A raptor is specifically a bird of prey. A hunter. Raptors have keen eyesight, strong feet with talons for grasping prey, and powerful curved beaks. The term raptor is derived from the Latin word rapio, meaning to seize, or take by force. Examples include eagles, falcons, hawks, owls and vultures.