How do you tell if bison meat is bad?

When it goes bad, generally meat will smell rancid and may also have a slimy or sticky texture. Refrigerated bison meat should be used or frozen within 3-4 days. Ground or cut up bison meat may be frozen for up to 4 months, and legs, chops, steaks, or loins may last 6-9 months in the freezer.