When was the first thanksgiving macy's parade?

1924. In the 1920s, many Macy's employees were lst generation European immigrants. They wanted to celebrate Thanksgiving Day with the type of festival they cherished back home. The first parade took place in 1924, when employees marched 34th Street dressed as clowns, cowboys, knights and sheikhs.