How do you keep bananas from getting too ripe?

To keep a bunch of bananas from ripening, wrap the stems in a plastic wrap and replace the cover each time, you remove banana from bunch. This will prevents ethylene gas, produced naturally during the ripening process, from reaching other parts of the fruit and ripening prematurely.