When was gummy bear born?

German entrepreneur Hans Riegel invented gummy candies way back in the early 1920s when he started his candy company Haribo. Today, Haribo continues to be one of the world's top manufacturers of gummy candies. Riegel's first gummy candies were shaped like bears.