How long does it take p. v. c. cement to dry?

PVC cement usually takes about 30 seconds to set, so the joint stops moving; around 15 minutes to garden; about 30 minutes until it's waterproof; 2 hours until you can put pressure thru it, and usually 24 hours to fully cure.