What was the babylonian exile?

The Chaldeans, or Neo-Babylonians, conquered the kingdom of Judah in 587 B.C.E., taking many of its people into custody. They were taken to the region of Babylon and forbidden to return to Judah. In 539, Cyrus of Persia conquered the Chaldeans and allowed exiled Jews to return to their homeland.