What's penicillin made out of?

Penicillin is a group of antibiotics, derived originally from common moulds of the same names. Scottish scientist Alexander Fleming, who isolated the effects of penicillium mould in 1928, coined the term "penicillin" to describe the filtrate of a broth culture of the Penicillium mould.