Who is daisy miller?

Daisy Miller, novel by Henry James, published in Cornhill Magazine in 1878 and published in book form in 1879. The book's title character is a young American woman traveling in Europe with her mother. There she is courted by Frederick Forsyth Winterbourne, an American living abroad.