How do you cut dog's toenails?

Hold the foot steady and gently. Snip off a small bit of the end of each toenail. Using either the guillotine or scissors-type clippers, place a tiny bit of the nail in the nail clipper and snip. If the nail feels spongy while you’re trying to cut it, stop immediately, you’re cutting the quick!