Is luke ferrigno deaf?

When he was only three years old, Ferrigno had an ear infection that was not treated properly. The infection resulted in a hearing impairment: Ferrigno lost 80% of his hearing ability. Hearing aids offered some help but still did not relieve his deafness fully. Ferrigno taught himself to read lips.