What was the crime in watergate?

Several burglars were arrested breaking into the Democratic National Committee in a building known as Watergate. They were charged with theft of documents and wire tapping. The burglars were connected to Richard Nixon's re-election campaign. Nixon's crime was in covering up the break in.