What was the first emoji?

On September 19, 1982, Carnegie Mellon professor Dr. Scott Fahlman invented the first emoticon: the smiley. Every September 19, Fehlman hands out smiley-face cookies at the Carnegie Mellon campus in Pittsburgh.