What's the storm advisory?

An advisory is an official announcement, typically a warning about bad weather conditions. So a storm advisory would be an official announcement about a bad storm.

---

A winter weather advisory which is a hazardous weather statement issued by Weather Forecast Offices of the National Weather Service in the United States when one or more types of winter precipitation occurs