Who orchestrated the louisiana purchase?

This Louisiana Purchase was orchestrated by Thomas Jefferson and James Madison, however, it was the work of Robert Livingston and James Monroe that ultimately proved to push negotiations forward, and close one of the biggest land acquisitions in history.