How big is the alphabet?

The English language alphabet has 26 letters but that isn't the case for all languages. The Cambodian language of Khmer has an amazing 74 characters, and on the other extreme, the area around the Bougainville Province of Papua New Guinea has a language of Rotokas which has only 12 letters.