What is the purpose of catnip?

The smell of catnip puts cats into a frenzy of excitement that lasts 10-15 minutes. It is used to encourage cats to explore and play and to relieve their anxiety. Humans use catnip too. Made into tea, catnip has calming properties similar to chamomile. It is also an effective insect repellent.