How many countries fought in world war two?

23 in total. There were 6 countries on the Axis powers side. Germany, Italy, Japan, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria versus 17 countries on the Allies U.S, Britain, France, USSR, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Greece, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, South Africa, Yugoslavia.