Do bananas grow on the ground?

Although it appears as though bananas grow on trees, they are not actually classified as trees. They are considered herbs. They form from a rhizome, which is an underground stem. There is a main “trunk” that sprouts up from underground that produces the banana cluster.

---

bananalink.com describes bananas this way: Banana plants are often mistaken for trees or palms – they are actually herbs. The banana is a plant that replaces itself. Bananas do not grow from a seed but from a bulb or rhizome. It takes 9 to 12 months from sowing a banana bulb to harvesting the fruit.